Invite Guests to Tasks or Task Lists

Need to share a task or list of tasks with a guest?  No problem!

Guest users can be your clients, a temporary contractor, or someone who just needs temporary, limited access to see and interact with specific tasks from your ProcessKit.

Adding a Guest User to your ProcessKit account

There are 3 different places from which a new guest user can be invited to your account:

  • Invite a guest from an individual task.  This will simultaneously invite them and assign them to that task.  More on this below.
  • Invite a guest from a task list.  This will simultaneously invite them and assign them to that task list.  More on this below.
  • Invite a guest from your People page, the same place where you invite other users to your account.  All guests who've been invited (from any task) will show up in your People list.

Note:  Unlike inviting a normal user to ProcessKit, which sends an invite email that the user clicks to accept, inviting guests is different.  When you invite a guest, they will not be sent any invitation email.  This is by design.  We feel it's important to allow you to carefully manage your guests' experience.  You can share a personalized URL with a guest when you're ready to do so (more on this below).

Sharing a single task with a guest

  1. Open up any project
  2. Go to the Tasks tab on that project
  3. Find the single task you want to share with a guest (or add a task list and tasks if none exist yet).
  4. Click the "...", then click "Add a guest..." or "Share with guests".  From here you can add brand new guest users, or assign this task to a guest user who has already been added to your account.
  5. If inviting a new guest user, enter the guest's email address, then click "Add guest".  They will not be sent an invitation email.
  6. Once a guest has been added to a task, you will see their avatar displayed on the task with a green corner.  This indicates that this task has been shared with a guest user.
  7. Click "..." again, then click "Assign guests...".  Underneath the guest you've shared this task with, you will find a click that says "Copy share link".  Click this to copy the URL to your clipboard.
    This "magic link" is personalized to each individual guest.  Give them this link, and when they click it, they will be instantly taken into ProcessKit to view this single task that you've shared with them.

Sharing a list of tasks with a guest

Sometimes you want to share multiple tasks (a task list) with a guest.  It's a similar process, with some caveats:

  1. Open up any project
  2. Go to the Tasks tab on that project
  3. Open the task list you want to share, or create a task list if none exist yet.
  4. Click "Task list settings" then click "Share with guests..." or "Add a guest".  From here you can add brand new guest users, or assign this task list to a guest user who has already been added to your account.
  5. If inviting a new guest user, enter the guest's email address, then click "Add guest".  They will not be sent an invitation email.
  6. Once a guest has been added to this task list, you will see a green "Shared" indicator at the top of this task list.  This lets you know that it is being shared with at least one guest.
  7. Note:  Sharing a task list with guest does not automatically share the individual tasks in that task list with the guest.  You will still need to share individual tasks in this list list with the guest in order for them to see them.  This is by design, so that have the ability to share some tasks within a task list, but not others.

Customize the task list title & description for your guest's view

Every task list has a title.  Optionally, a task list can also have a description shown at the top of the task list.

By default, when sharing a task list with a guest, the task list's title and description (if any) are shown to the guest.  You have the following customization options:

  • You can change the title of the task list shown to the guest to something different from the task list title that you see internally.
  • You can change the description for the task list shown to the guest to something different from the task list description you see internally.  Tip:  This is a good place to put a personalized message or instructions directed at your guest.
  • You can disable the description from displaying to your guests, while leaving it intact when you view the task list internally (good if the description is for internal notes only).

To manage these customizations, open the task list settings, then click "Options". 

Assuming you've invited at least one guest to your account, you will see a link, "Customize title and description for guests...".  Click that to reveal the fields where you can make these customizations.

Click "Update" when finished making changes.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us