Managing people's permissions

You can set different global permission-levels for different people in your ProcessKit.

Note:  Regardless of permission-level, you can also restrict and allow individual users' access to specific boards, and access to specific projects.

Set a person's permission level

To set or change a person's permission level, go to your People section from the menu at the top-left, then find this person and click the "..." pull-down menu to edit that person's "Permission" level.

Permission levels

These are the permission levels that people can have:


Owner

The person who initially created the ProcessKit is the "Owner".  There can only be one "owner" for an account.

The Owner is the only person who can:

  • Manage the billing information for the account

Administrator

Administrators can essentially do everything except manage the account's billing information.

Administrators can:

  • Invite other team members
  • Change other team members' permission level, except for the ability to make someone an "owner".
  • Invite guests to tasks and task lists
  • Create, edit and send template emails from tasks
  • Create and edit boards and board settings
  • Create and edit projects 
  • Assign people to tasks
  • Create and edit processes
  • Create and edit clients
  • Create and manage custom fields on projects
  • Create and manage custom attributes on clients
  • View other people's profiles and their activity

Administrators cannot:

  • Make a user an "owner"
  • Manage or view the billing information for the ProcessKit account


Contributor

Contributors can:

  • View processes (but can't create or edit them)
  • Create projects and archive or unarchive them (but can't permanently delete them)
  • Edit details on projects
  • Create, edit, reorder, and delete task lists and tasks on projects
  • Create, edit and send template emails from tasks
  • Move a project to a different board
  • Create, edit, archive, and unarchive clients (but can't permanently delete them)
  • View their own personal profile, where they can see their projects and tasks (but not view others')

Contributors cannot:

  • Create or edit boards and board settings
  • Create or edit processes
  • Permanently delete projects
  • Permanently delete clients
  • Invite other users
  • Invite guests
  • Assign users to tasks
  • Create and manage custom fields on projects (but they can edit their values)
  • Create and manage custom attributes on clients (but they can edit their values)


User

Users can:

  • View Processes
  • View Projects and any details fields that have values
  • View task lists & tasks
  • Check off (complete) tasks and uncheck (mark incomplete) tasks
  • View and click "send" on template emails in tasks but cannot edit the content and settings of the template email.
  • View clients and their attributes
  • Leave comments on tasks and projects
  • View their own personal profile, where they can see their projects and tasks (but not view others')

Users cannot:

  • Create projects or edit details on projects
  • Edit or change task lists and tasks
  • Create or edit processes
  • Create or edit clients

Guest

Guests are a special type of user.  Unlike other users, Guests do not add to your ProcessKit per-user cost.  See our pricing page for current pricing information.

Guests can:

  • Log in with a user/password, if they create one.  However, you can invite guests into ProcessKit by sharing a magic link, which takes them in without having to accept an invite or create their password.  More on this here
  • See specific tasks you've shared with them
  • See specific task lists you've shared with them (within those, they will still only see the specific tasks you've shared with them).
  • See their guest dashboard, where they can view the list of tasks and task lists you've shared with them.
  • Check off (mark complete) and uncheck (mark incomplete) tasks
  • View and click "send" on template emails in tasks but cannot edit the content and settings of the template email.
  • Leave comments on tasks

Guests cannot:

  • See boards
  • See projects and project details (except for the task lists within them that you've shared with a guest)
  • See processes
  • See clients
  • See any settings and options other than their own profile settings (name, email, avatar, timezone, etc.)

Other limitations for Guests:

  • When setting up your process templates, guest users cannot be automatically assigned to tasks at the process template level.  However, they can be assigned to individual tasks on projects.  You can also use the "bulk edit" option on task lists to bulk assign all tasks in a task list to a guest.
  • Guests cannot be assigned to tasks via Zapier.

New to ProcessKit? Sign up for a free trial here
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us